In 2014, the International Association of Centres for Federal Studies (IACFS), of which Ituna Center for Basque Economic Agreement and Fiscal Federalism Studies is a full-member, inaugurated the Young Scholar Award, an annual award for the best unpublished article or paper on an aspect of federalism. In 2015, this award was renamed in honour of Ronald L. Watts.


Only young researchers, attached or associated with an IACFS member centre are eligible. They include full-time researchers, masters, doctoral and post-doctoral students. Former students of a centre may also apply as long as there is a demonstrable association with the member centre. The age limit is 35 years old at the time of tabling the application.

Young researchers are invited to submit a journal-length article (8 000 – 10 000 words) on a topic dealing with an aspect of federalism. The topic does not need to be linked to the theme of the IACFS annual conference. The paper must be an original work. It may have already been submitted for publication but not published. The paper must be written in English.


A young researcher submits his/her work to the director of the centre and each centre may nominate up to three candidates. Nominations and papers must be submitted to no later than 30 April 2021.


For 2021, the award comprises a return flight ticket to the IACFS annual conference in Innsbruck, Austria (28-30 October 2021), plus three days’ accommodation and a certificate. The award winner will be invited to present his/her paper at the IACFS conference. In case the conference is held online, or travel restrictions make the participation of the winner impossible, he/she will be invited to the annual conferences of 2022.

For further information and queries, please contact Professor Francesco Palermo ( or Professor Nico Steytler (

Todas las categorías